Alumni Notes

We want to include your news in Alumni Notes! Please send your news to

Classes 2020-present

Matthew Bradley

Matthew Bradley, '20 J.D.

Matthew Bradley '20 J.D. was appointed Municipal Judge for the city of Dinosaur, Colo., just days before his 25th birthday, making him one of the youngest, if not the youngest,...

Three 2020 graduates join Shook, Hardy & Bacon

Three members of Notre Dame Law School's Class of 2020 have joined Shook, Hardy & Bacon, LLP. Ijeoma Odigwe has joined the firm as an associate in the Kansas City office....
Odigwe I

Ijeoma “EJ” Odigwe, ‘20 J.D.

Shook, Hardy & Bacon, LLP is pleased to announce that Ijeoma Odigwe has joined the firm as an associate in the firm’s Kansas City office. Odigwe will focus his practice...

View All Classes 2020-present Notes

Classes 2010-2019

Thomas Mchugh

Thomas McHugh '17 J.D.

Thomas McHugh '17 J.D. was featured by JD Supra in an episode of On Record PR discussing diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives. McHugh is an associate at Bressler, Amery &...
Libby Klesmith

Elizabeth A. “Libby” Klesmith, ‘14 J.D.

The South Bend firm of Tuesley Hall Konopa is pleased to announce that attorney Elizabeth Klesmith has been elected President of the St. Joseph County Bar Association for 2021-2022. Klesmith...
Sikorksi Robert Fpr

Robert A. Sikorski, ‘19 J.D.

Freeborn & Peters is pleased to announce that Robert Sikorski has joined the firm in Chicago as an associate in the firm’s Corporate Practice Group.…

View All Classes 2010-2019 Notes

Classes 2000-2009

Judge Danella

Nicholas Danella '06 J.D.

On August 19, 2021, Nicholas A. Danella '06 J.D. took the bench as a magistrate judge in the United States District Court for the Northern District of Alabama. He was selected...
Krishna Walker

Krishna A. Walker, ‘08 J.D.

Krishna Walker received the Rising Star Award at the St. Louis Business Journal’s 2021 Corporate Counsel Awards Event last month. Walker just finished her first year as general counsel for...

View All Classes 2000-2009 Notes

Classes 1990-1999

Kimberly Thomas

Kimberly Thomas, ‘98 J.D.

Kimberly Thomas was named one of the “Notable Women in Law for 2021” by Crain’s Detroit Business. A leader in her field and in the community, Thomas was selected by...
Bar Buzz Klein Julia Dayton W

Julia Dayton Klein, ‘99 BBA, ‘02 J.D.

Julia Dayton Klein has been appointed by the governor’s office as a new District Court Judge in Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District. Dayton Klein will replace the retiring Judge Thomas S....

View All Classes 1990-1999 Notes

Classes 1980-1989

Cavanaugh Chip Website

William T. “Chip” Cavanaugh, Jr., ‘84 J.D.

Chip Cavanaugh, a shareholder at Munsch Hardt, a Texas-based mid-sized commercial law firm, was recently featured in the Chambers USA 2021 rankings for his work in Real Estate law.…
Mccarron John Downeybrand Hires

John C. McCarron, ‘87 J.D.

John McCarron, a partner at Downey Brand, was named a Top Lawyer by Sacramento Magazine in the areas of Food & Agriculture Law and Nonprofit Organizations.…

In Memoriam: Dennis C. Cusack, ‘85 J.D.

It is with great sadness that the law school announces the passing of Dennis Cusack of Oak Park, Illinois on July 27, 2021. Cusack, a long-time shareholder of Johnson &...

View All Classes 1980-1989 Notes

Classes 1970-1979

In Memoriam: Leo P. Cox ‘71 J.D.

It is with a heavy heart that the law school announces the passing of Leo Cox on May 17, 2021 in Neptune, New Jersey. Cox was president of his law...

In Memoriam: J. Richard Ransel, '74 J.D.

It is with a heavy heart that the Law School announces the passing of J. Richard Ransel, '74 J.D., on July 12, 2021 in Elkhart, Indiana. He was an adjunct professor...
Scott Sullivan

Scott C. Sullivan, ‘76 BBA, ‘79 J.D.

Scott Sullivan, a partner with WilliamsMcCarthy LLP, a full-service Illinois-based law firm headquartered in Rockford, was recently elected to serve a six-year term as a Trustee of the Lincoln Academy...

View All Classes 1970-1979 Notes

Classes 1960-1969

Theodore Fitzgerald

Theodore A. Fitzgerald ‘60 BBA, 62 JD

It is with great sadness that the Law School announces the passing of Theodore Fitzgerald on August 22, 2021 in Hebron, Indiana. Upon graduation, Fitzgerald took a clerkship with the...
In Memoriam Feature

In Memoriam: John F. “Jack” Sandner '68 J.D.

John F. “Jack” Sandner, a longtime member of the University of Notre Dame’s Board of Trustees and retired chairman of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange, died Thursday (March 11) at Northwestern...

View All Classes 1960-1969 Notes

Classes 1950-1959

2005 Mccartan Feature

In Memoriam: Patrick F. McCartan '56, '59 J.D.

Patrick F. McCartan, chairman emeritus of the University of Notre Dame’s Board of Trustees and a recipient of the University’s highest honors, died Monday (Nov. 30) in Cleveland with members...
Carl Eiberger Resize

In Memoriam: Carl F. Eiberger '52, '54 J.D.

It is with great sadness that the Law School announces the passing of Carl Eiberger on March 6, 2019, in Golden, Colorado. Eiberger practiced law for more than 50 years...

View All Classes 1950-1959 Notes

Classes 1940-1949

In Memoriam: Robert L. Miller Sr. '42, '47 J.D.

Robert L. Miller Sr., a longtime St. Joseph County judge and advocate for veterans, passed away on April 27. He was 98. "Judge Miller represented the best of us," Dean Nell...

In Memoriam: George B. Newitt, ’48 J.D.

p(image-right). !/assets/282061/canva_photo_editor_9_.png(Canva Photo Editor 9)! George Newitt, attorney and longtime Wheaton College trustee, died at the age of 100 in Wheaton, Illinois on April 18, 2018. Newitt began his legal...

View All Classes 1940-1949 Notes