News & Events

News

Notre Dame Lawyers Club of San Diego to Host Sports and Business Panel

The Notre Dame Lawyers Club of San Diego will host a sports and business panel discussion at PETCO Park, Thursday, Feb. 4. The talk, moderated by Tracy A. Warren, ’99 J.D., former national and local sports television broadcaster and current shareholder at Ogletree Deakins, will feature four Notre Dame alumni who will offer insights into building a successful career within the billion-dollar sports industry.…

Read More

Notre Dame Law School Faculty Submit Friends-of-the-Court Briefs to U.S. Supreme Court

This month, three Notre Dame Law School faculty have submitted amicus briefs to the U.S. Supreme Court in cases involving design patent, religious liberty and national security.

On behalf of the families of the 241 U.S. servicemen killed in the 1983 truck-bombing attack on a Marine barracks in Beirut, Jimmy Gurulé, professor of law, with six other law professors who teach and publish in the field of national security law, filed a friends-of-the-court brief in Bank Markazi v. Peterson. At issue is $1.75 billion in blocked Iranian assets currently held in a trust account in New York. Gurulé’s brief argues the funds should be handed over to the victims’ families.…

Read More

Andrea Lyon Confronts Mass Incarceration and Race During Notre Dame Law School Discussion

img_1886

Andrea D. Lyon, dean and professor of law at Valparaiso University Law School, recently led a discussion at Notre Dame Law School that focused on the issues of mass incarceration and racial disparities within the criminal justice system.

“It’s important to talk about the apartheid that is our criminal justice system,” Lyon said. “I know that’s a strong word, but that’s just the truth.”…

Read More

NDLS Alumnus Cordell Carter to be Honored at White House as “Champion of Change”

Addressing the critical need to expand computer science across the nation’s K-12 classrooms and prepare more American students to take on jobs of the future, President Barack Obama will recognize a distinguished group of individuals as “White House Champions of Change for Computer Science Education,” including one Notre Dame lawyer.

Read More

Mark McKenna Files Amicus Brief in Apple v. Samsung

mckenna_mark_2_1_

Mark P. McKenna, professor of law and associate dean for faculty development in the University of Notre Dame Law School, is among the leaders of a group of 37 law professors who filed a friend-of-the-court brief urging the U.S. Supreme Court to hear the Apple v. Samsung case, in which Samsung has appealed its patent loss to Apple in a lower federal circuit court dispute over the copying of iPhone technology.…

Read More

Events

Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Thursday, February 11, 2016

Thursday, February 18, 2016

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Thursday, February 25, 2016

Friday, February 26, 2016

Elder Law Lecture

-

Location: 2130 Eck Hall of Law - Faculty Meeting Room

Larry Frolick will give a lecture on Elder Law to faculty and staff.…

Read More

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Saturday, March 5, 2016

Sunday, March 6, 2016

Monday, March 7, 2016

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Friday, March 11, 2016

Saturday, March 12, 2016

Sunday, March 13, 2016

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Friday, March 18, 2016

Admitted Student Weekend

Location: Notre Dame Law School

Admitted Student Weekend provides the opportunity for you to meet members of the faculty, student body and alumni, as well as potential classmates.…

Read More