ND Law Professor Paolo Carozza receives 2023 Notre Dame Faculty Award

Author: Notre Dame Law School

Paolocarozza 02
Professor of Law Paolo Carozza

Professor of Law Paolo Carozza has been selected to receive the University of Notre Dame’s 2023 Faculty Award, the Provost’s Office announced on May 23.

The Faculty Award singles out that faculty member who, in the opinion of his or her colleagues, has contributed outstanding service to the University of Notre Dame, such as through leadership activities, mentoring faculty colleagues, or exemplary dedication to students.

The citation for the award presented to Carozza reads:

A member of the Notre Dame faculty since 1996, Paolo Carozza is among the world’s most accomplished and influential human rights lawyers. As a scholar, advocate, judge, and academic leader, he has worked to recognize the equal dignity of every person and to promote human flourishing through the rule of law. He is the former president of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, served on the State Department’s Commission on Unalienable Rights, is a member of the European Commission for Democracy through Law, and was appointed by Pope Francis to the Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences. All of these accomplishments are in addition to his generous leadership on campus, most recently as director of the Kellogg Institute for International Studies, with previous service as associate dean of the Law School and as director of the Center for Civil and Human Rights and the Program on Law and Human Development.

G. Marcus Cole, the Joseph A. Matson Dean and Professor of Law at Notre Dame Law School, congratulated Carozza, saying, “Paolo Carozza exemplifies the University of Notre Dame’s Catholic mission to be a force for good in the world. I congratulate him on receiving this well-deserved award, and I feel blessed to count him as a member of the Law School’s faculty.”

This is the second annual award that Carozza has received from the University of Notre Dame in recent years.

In 2019, he was the recipient of the Reinhold Niebuhr Award, which is given annually to a faculty member or administrator whose body of academic work and life promote or exemplify the area of social justice in modern life.