Alum Sean Seymore Honored with BLSA’s Alumni Award

Author: Denise Wager

Sean B. Seymore, ’01 Ph.D., ’06 J.D., was awarded the Alvin McKenna Alumnus of the Year Award by the Notre Dame Law School Black Law Students Association at its annual banquet.

The Alvin McKenna Award is given to an NDLS graduate who has distinguished him or herself within the African-American community and supports BLSA programs and activities. The honoree also demonstrates active involvement within the community.

Seymore is a professor of law and Chancellor Faculty Fellow at Vanderbilt University. His research focuses on how patent law should evolve in response to scientific advances, and how the intersection of law and science should influence and form public policy.

During his remarks at the banquet, Seymore said that he chose NDLS because he wanted to study the law in the light of Christ.

“NDLS is an excellent law school with a strong Catholic identity,” he said. “The eagerness to integrate faith, values, intellectual rigor, and excellence sets NDLS apart from other law schools.”

After earning his law degree from NDLS with an Allen Endowment Fellowship, Seymore practiced patent law with Foley Hoag in Boston. He taught at Northwestern University School of Law and Washington & Lee University School of Law before joining the faculty at Vanderbilt Law School. Last year, Seymore was a visiting scholar at NDLS focusing on intellectual property research.

Other BLSA Award Winners

Veronica Root, associate professor of law, was awarded the Charles F. Crutchfield Professorial Excellence Award. The Crutchfield award is presented to an NDLS faculty member who demonstrates a commitment to diversity both in and outside of the classroom.

Miracle Haynes, 3L, received the Dwight King Excellence in Service Award. The award is given to a BLSA member who has devoted considerable time, energy, and attention to both BLSA and the NDLS community.

Jake Baska, director of admissions and financial aid, received the Rebecca B. Ward Appreciation Award. This award is given to a member of the Law School or local community who consistently contributes time and assistance to furthering the goals and objectives of the University.