News & Events

News

Corey Hemmerich, 2L: mother, law student, and extreme commuter

When Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg spoke at the University of Notre Dame in September 2016, one of the many points she touched upon was how she balanced being a mother at the same time she was in law school.

Ginsburg told the audience in Purcell Pavilion that caring for her young daughter, Jane, gave her “a sense of proportion” as a law student.

Read More

Associate Dean Randy Kozel develops a theory of precedent in new book

In the American legal system, it’s a generally accepted view that judges should not disrupt the decisions of their predecessors unless they have a compelling reason to do so. The principle is known by the Latin phrase stare decisis – “to stand by things decided.” The goal is to preserve the law’s core without permanently entrenching every judicial mistake.

The key question is: When should judges break from precedent? After all, even Supreme Court justices disagree about the role of precedent in particular cases.

Read More

David Pruitt joins ND Law School as Clinical Law Center director

David Pruitt is the new program director for the Notre Dame Clinical Law Center.

Pruitt brings almost two decades of experience as a practicing attorney to the position. Most recently, he was a partner in the litigation department at Barnes & Thornburg in South Bend. He concentrated on commercial and intellectual property litigation and represented clients in state and federal courts throughout the country.

Read More

Events

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Thursday, August 24, 2017

Saturday, August 26, 2017

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Friday, September 8, 2017

Monday, September 11, 2017

Monday, September 18, 2017

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Friday, September 22, 2017

Conferences

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

The Antitrust Implications of Horizontal Shareholdings

-

Location: 2130 Eck Hall of Law, Faculty Meeting Room

We will have a panel on “The Antitrust Implications of Horizontal Shareholdings” focusing on the recent work of Einer Elhauge, Petrie Professor of Law at Harvard Law School, on this hot topic at the intersection of corporate governance and antitrust law.

With comments and contributions from:
Jonathan Baker, Professor of Law, American University Washington College of Law

Read More