Meet the Board

Current Team Picture

Meet our different teams

Students are selected to the Moot Court Board after competing in the optional 1L Moot Court Competition and receiving an invitation to join the Board based on their 1L briefs and their performance in the competition. In the fall of their 2L year, Board members compete intramurally to determine placement on the Board’s various teams. In years past NDLS’ teams have competed in the National Moot Court competition, the ABA competition, the National Religious Freedom Competition, and the Jessup International Law Moot Court competition. The National team also performs the Showcase argument in front of a panel of sitting judges, watched by the 1L class.

Members of the Board also have the opportunity to argue actual cases in front of the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals. Under the guidance of a local attorney, they take on a case representing a prisoner. In that capacity, they write a brief, a reply brief and argue the case before a three judge panel.

Students are entitled to one co-curricular credit for each semester that they participate in Moot Court.

For more information contact Moot Court Board President Hannah Oswald at

Follow the Moot Court Board on Twitter for the latest news and updates.

Recent Team Accomplishments

Past Win John J Gibbons Seton HallJohn J. Gibbons Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition 2018. First Place Team and Best Oralist to Olaniyi Solebo. Competitors: Hannah Oswald, Terence Parker, Olaniyi Solebo.

Past Win Intellectual PropertyInternational Trademark Association's Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition 2018. First Place Midwest Regionals and Third Place at Nationals 2018.Competitors: Hannah Weger, Matt Fitzgerald, Adam Kwon.

Past Win CravenJ. Braxton Craven, Jr. Memorial Moot Court Competition 2018. Second Place Team. Competitors: Shannon Lewry, Jonathan McCreary, Kayla Clark. 

Past Win Religious Tournament In BolognaInternational Religious Freedom Tournament in Bologna, Italy 2018. First Place Team and Best Oralist to Lawrence Wesco. Jack Blais, Megan Ball, Cristina Sanchez, Lawrence Wesco. 

Past Win 2017 Seigenthaler CupSeigenthaler-Sutherland Cup National First Amendment Moot Court Competition 2017. First Place Team. Competitors: Kayla Clark, Hope Tone, Shannon Lewry.  

Past Win 2018 Seigenthaler CupSeigenthaler-Sutherland Cup National First Amendment Moot Court Competition 2018. Quarterfinalist Team and Best Brief Writer to Doori Song. Competitors: Jake Crammer, Justin Lewis, and Doori Song.