Separation of Powers: Theory, Development, and Applications Conference

Author: Charles Williams


A roundtable conference at the law school March 25 considered the latest leading scholarship in the field of Separation of Powers. Conference papers addressed separation of powers theory, executive power, and administrative law. The daylong program was hosted by Professor Anthony J. Bellia Jr. and sponsored by the Notre Dame Program in Constitutional Structure and Design.

Among the conference highlights:

Democracy in the Balance: Strengthening Accountability in U.S. International Lawmaking
Oona A. Hathaway
Yale Law School

Separation of Powers as Ordinary Interpretation
John F. Manning
Harvard Law School

Administrative Change
Jeffrey A. Pojanowski & Randy J. Kozel
Notre Dame Law School

PCAOB’s Principle: Separation of Powers as Separation of Agency Functions
Kevin Stack
Vanderbilt University Law School

The Forgotten Core Meaning of the Suspension Clause
Amanda Tyler
George Washington University Law School

Other participating scholars included:

Amy Coney Barrett, Notre Dame Law School
Patricia L. Bellia, Notre Dame Law School
Rev. William R. Dailey, Notre Dame Law School
Patrick Griffin, Notre Dame Department of History
William K. Kelley, Notre Dame Law School
The Honorable Raymond M. Kethledge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit
M. Elizabeth Magill, University of Virginia School of Law
Jennifer Mason-McAward, Notre Dame Law School
Trevor W. Morrison, Columbia Law School
John Copeland Nagle, Notre Dame Law School
Vincent Phillip Munoz, Notre Dame Department of Political Science
Stephen Smith, Notre Dame Law School
Jay Tidmarsh, Notre Dame Law School
Michael Zuckert, Notre Dame Department of Political Science