Prof. Cassel Addresses Organization of American States

Author: Liquid error: internal

faculty_cassel Notre Dame Professor of Law and Director of the Law School’s Center for Civil and Human Rights (CCHR) Douglass Cassel will join three other prominent human rights attorneys and activists for the Organization of American States (OAS) policy roundtable in Washington, D.C. Cassel is participating at the invitation of OAS Secretary General José Miguel Insulza. The event takes place on Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2009.

The roundtable, titled “Challenges and Future of the Inter-American System on Human Rights,” recognizes the 50th anniversary of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR), an extension of the OAS. The other presenters are Armstrong Wiggins, director of the Indian Law Resource Center; Helen Mack, founder and president of the Myrna Mack Foundation in Guatemala; and Juan Mendez, special advisor on prevention to the prosecutor of the International Criminal Court. Mendez was Cassel’s predecessor at Notre Dame’s Center for Civil and Human Rights.

The purpose of the OAS and the IACHR is to promote justice and provide recourse to people in the Americas who may have suffered human rights violations.

Cassel is a scholar and practitioner of international human rights, international criminal and international humanitarian law. Most recently, he has been a leading voice in the national and international debate over the recent coup d’etat in Honduras. He also represents victims of human rights violations in Colombia, Guatemala, Peru and Venezuela, in cases that go before the IACHR and Inter-American Court of Human Rights.

Cassel’s research interests include the human rights responsibilities of transnational corporations, international law options for combating terrorism, strengthening of international human rights institutions, and the history of human rights.

For more on Prof. Cassel and the CCHR, visit

NOTE: Notre Dame Professor of Law Paolo Carozza is a current member and past chair of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.