Library Hours


Notre Dame Law Faculty and Law Students have 24 hour access to the collection.

Policy on use of the Kresge Library by non-law patrons:

The Kresge Library is a legal research facility. Its use is intended primarily for law school faculty, law students, and other members of the law school community. Non-law patrons are welcome to use the collections Monday – Friday during regular business hours 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Following past practice, the library will maintain public service hours as follows:

Fall Semester
August 20, 2017 – December 16, 2017

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Saturdays Noon – 6:00 p.m.
Sundays Noon – 9:00 p.m.

During the examination period, beginning Friday, December 8 through Saturday, December 16, the law library is reserved for law students only. Non-law patrons are asked to not use the law library as a study hall. Hours vary after last examination.


Fall Break
October 13, 2017 – October 22, 2017

Friday October 13 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Saturday October 14 Closed
Sunday October 15 Closed
Monday – Friday October 16 – 20 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturday October 21 Closed
Sunday October 22 Noon – 9:00 p.m.

Thanksgiving Break
November 21, 2017 – November 26, 2017

Tuesday and Wednesday November 21 and 22 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Thursday November 23 Closed
Friday November 24 Closed
Saturday November 25 Closed
Sunday November 26 Noon – 9:00 p.m.

Christmas Break
December 16, 2017 – January 14, 2018

Saturday December 16 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Sunday December 17 Closed
Monday – Thursday December 18 – 21 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Friday – Monday December 22 – January 1 Closed
Tuesday – Friday January 2 – 5 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday January 6 & 7 Closed
Monday – Friday January 8 – 12 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturday January 13 Closed
Sunday January 14 Noon – 9:00 p.m.

Spring Semester
January 15, 2018 – May 15, 2018

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Saturdays Noon – 6:00 p.m.
Sundays Noon – 9:00 p.m.

During the examination period beginning Friday, May 4, through Tuesday, May 15, the law library is reserved for law students only. Non-law patrons are asked to not use the law library as a study hall. Hours vary after the last exam.


Spring Break
March 10, 2018 – March 18, 2018

Friday March 9 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday March 10 & 11 Closed
Monday – Friday March 12 – 16 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturday March 17 Closed
Sunday March 18 Noon – 9:00 p.m.

Easter Break
March 30, 2018 – April 2, 2018

Friday – Sunday March 30 – April 1 Closed
Monday April 2 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Commencement Week
May 13, 2018 – May 20, 2018

Sunday May 13 Closed
Monday – Friday May 14 – 18 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday May 19 & 20 Closed

Summer Hours

May 21, 2018 – August 19, 2018

Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturdays & Sundays Closed