The Notre Dame Law Association Board has adopted an awards program to honor outstanding Notre Dame Lawyers. To nominate yourself or someone you know, please click here to access the NDLA Awards Nomination form. Awards include:

Edward Murphy Award
Awarded to Notre Dame Lawyers in private practice who have distinguished themselves in the profession of law, exhibited the highest professional competence and compassion and are guided by the high moral and religious values that Notre Dame represents.


This award is named after Professor Edward Murphy, a popular and respected teacher at Notre Dame Law School who practiced his Catholic faith daily. The awardee preferably would be an outstanding lawyer or judge who has distinguished himself or herself in the law profession. Private practice is intended to include any lawyer practicing as a solo lawyer, in a law firm, or as in-house counsel for a private enterprise. This person would be someone who has devoted service to his or her church and has a reputation for being ethical, professional and faithful to moral and religious values.

William Lewers Award
Awarded to Notre Dame Lawyers who have made outstanding contributions in the area of civil and human rights or social justice.


This award is named for Fr. William Lewers, a longtime and outstanding faculty member of the Notre Dame Law School who also directed the Center for Civil and Human Rights of the Notre Dame Law School. The awardee would be a person who has devoted outstanding service in the area of civil and human rights or who has worked for social justice.

Michael McCafferty Award
Awarded to Notre Dame Lawyers or NDLS faculty members or administrators who have rendered distinguished service to the University of Notre Dame.


This award is named for Fr. Michael McCafferty, a popular teacher at Notre Dame Law School whose life was shortened by cancer. The awardee would be someone who has devoted outstanding and special service to the University of Notre Dame. It could be someone who has expended substantial time and effort as part of alumni association activities, or someone who has raised substantial funds for the University, or someone who has been an outstanding faculty member or administrator at the law school.

St. Thomas More Award
Awarded to Notre Dame Lawyers who have distinguished themselves as jurists or public servants, while exhibiting uncompromising integrity and loyalty to conscience.


This award is named for St. Thomas More who has been the model for Catholic lawyers for centuries. Thomas More was chancellor of England during the reign of Henry VIII and followed the principle: Do what is right, cost what it may. Awardees would be Notre Dame Lawyers who have been judges or in public service, including lawyers working in local, state or national government positions or serving as elected representatives.

St. Yves Award
Awarded to Notre Dame Lawyers who have performed a particular number of hours of service each year or a particular level of financial support for law-related service projects.


This award is named after St. Yves and is intended to create awareness and support for public interest law. Awarded to Notre Dame Lawyers who have devoted substantial pro bono legal services or financial support (1) to disadvantaged persons or organizations serving disadvantaged persons or (2) for the public good.

Award Recipients

Edward Murphy Award
Dean David T. Link, ’58, ’61 J.D., 2002
John F. Crowley, ’92 J.D., 2007

Michael McCafferty Award
Carl F. Eiberger, ’52, ’54 J.D., 2002
John F. Sandner, ’68 J.D., 2007
Fernand N. “Tex” Dutile, ’65 J.D., 2008
Thomas R. Curtin, ’68 J.D., 2010
Professor Thomas L. Shaffer, ’61 J.D., 2012

St. Thomas More Award
Rev. Theodore Hesburgh, 2004
Dean Patricia A. O’Hara, ’74 J.D., 2009
Judge Federico A. Moreno, ’74 BA, 2013

St. Yves Award
James B. Flickinger, ’71 J.D., 2002
Darrell R. Gordon, ’88, ’89 MSA, 2007

William Lewers Award
Donald A. Wich, Jr., ’69, ’72 J.D., 2002
Robert M. Greene, ’69 J.D., 2009

Selection Process

Awards are given no more frequently than annually, and there is no requirement to give each award annually. The selection process is as follows:

The Awards Committee will receive nominees from any board member, any member of the Law School faculty or administration, any Law School Advisory Board member or any Notre Dame Lawyers. The Awards Committee will review the nominations and make recommendations to the Board at its spring and fall meetings. The Notre Dame Law Association Board by majority vote will determine the awardees. The awardees will be invited to the University at either the spring and/or fall meetings to receive the awards. Consideration will be given to presenting the awards at the Blue Gold Game and/or at a football game in the fall.

Award Nominations

To nominate yourself or someone you know, please click here to access the NDLA Awards Nomination form. Contact Law School Alumni Relations at or (574-631-6891) for more information.


In memoriam: Drew Ryan Haase, ’06 BA, ’09 J.D.


The Notre Dame community is deeply saddened by the loss of Drew Haase. Drew was an Adjunct Assistant Professional Specialist of Political Science at the University of Notre Dame where he was the head coach for the undergrad mock trial team that will head to Nationals later this month. He was currently employed as a Law Clerk with the United States District Court, Northern District of Indiana. Previously Drew had practiced law at Jenner & Block in Chicago from 2009 to 2013. To read a tribute to Drew’s life please visit the obituary here.

Sponsorship for USA Track & Field Grows Under Leadership of CEO, Max Siegel, ’86 BA, ’92 JD


Since Max Siegel became USATF’s fourth CEO in May 2012, he has signed 12 corporate partnership deals and grown the organization’s sponsor roster from seven to 19 and increased the organization’s annual revenue from $19 million to $30 million. USATF board member Jackie Joyner-Kersey credits the recent success of USATF with Siegel’s “team approach” in dealing with sponsors and athletes. “Max is a ‘we’ guy,” Joyner-Kersey said. “It’s about how we can do this together. That approach has created tremendous buy-in with athletes, sponsors and other constituents which has produced tremendous progress for the organization.” Read more

Minnesota Vikings Promote Kevin Warren, ’90 JD, to CEO


Kevin Warren, who is entering his 11th season with the Vikings, most recently served as the Vikings Executive Vice President of Legal Affairs and Chief Administrative Officer. As CEO, Warren will now oversee all aspects of the Vikings business operations and will create strategic efforts for all departments. Warren has been instrumental in the design and construction process of the new Viking stadium set to open in 2016. Viking Owner/Chairman Zygi Wilf said, “Kevin’s leadership, acumen, passion and work ethic will continue to be a positive asset for the Vikings and this community.” Warren and his wife are very committed to the Minneapolis-St. Paul community, where they recently donated $1 million to the University of Minnesota Masonic Children’s Hospital to establish “Carolyn’s Comforts”, a child cancer emergency assistance fund named in honor of Warren’s late sister. Read more

View All News

Connect with Alumni


Stay in Touch


Contact Info

Alumni Center
1150 Eck Hall of Law
Notre Dame, IN 46556

P: 574.631.6891