商事法项目 (CN)

很多法学院毕业生在与商事有关的领域从事法律工作。虽然商学的学位和背景有所帮助,但这不是在这个领域上成功的必要前提条件。本商事法项目帮法学院学生准备将来会面临的各种难关。学校鼓励参加本项目的学生选修商事实体法以及法律事务分析技巧相关的课程。

“在实务方面,商事律师的业务倾向于诉讼和商业交易。法学院的大部分课程帮助学生练习诉讼实践,但商事法项目注重于商事法方面的实务,就是帮助客户有效的,正规的达成目标,降低诉讼风险与成本。

在实质领域上,本项目集中在三个方面:第一,公司法,即涉及到公司或非盈利机构的组织和管理以及私人秩序;第二,税法,即涉及到公司交易上的政府征税;第三,商法,即涉及到商业理财,全球商业交易。除此以外,本项目还包括其他实质领域的法律课程。

教职员

很多Notre Dame Law School教职员讲授关于企业,税,商法领域的课程,并且进行研究,发表论文。并且,大学里也有其他与本项目有关的老师可以为法学院学生讲授课程

基础商学课程

在商事法课程中,最为基础的课程是"商业组织法"。这是很多学生第一次接触商事内容的课程,也是是通过这个观点学习该课程。该课程向学生介绍多种形式的商业组织和最基本的商学概念。另一门课是"联邦所得税"。对大部分法学院学生而言,这是第一门与税有关的课程。该课程向学生介绍在商业税与个人税计划中很重要的基本税法概念。

学生修完商业组织法以后,已有基础去修其他深化商事课程。还有,学生修完联邦所得税以后,已有基础去修别的深化税法课程。因此,为了学生的法学院生活,我们推荐学生们在修深化课程之前,尽早修这两门课。

一般可以跟这两门课一起或者之前修一些分析技术和方法的课程。这包括针对律师的会计和分析方法。JD 1年级的必修课(包括合同法和侵权行为法)也帮助学生准备进入商事法项目。

指定阅读资料

若学生想更深一步地了解特定商事法的题目,商事法教职员可以监督很多领域的专家们指定的一些阅读资料。在领导的监督下,各个教授决定对这些阅读资料的具体要求。这些指定阅读资料涉及到比在一般的课堂上谈到的东西更有深度的内容,并涉及到按照通过那些教授的协助挑选的题目写出的法律研究论文。

深化公司法课程

"商业组织法"主要是讲洲法中的商业组织的基础公司法课程。接下来的第二门课就是"证券管制"。证券管制往往被认为是联邦公司法,在课堂上一定部分会谈到"信息披露"。这些基本知识在公司法实务上是必需的,并且很难自学。"公司并购""是集中于公司法的交易方面的深化课程。

现在有三个公司法领域的研讨班。"公司法深化题目"集中于在公司治理方面,同时代发生的长久的问题。"企业治理"一般通过经济分析来考查一些考虑到企业功能的最重要又及时的政策问题和更详细地考查获得有效管理技巧的手段。

深化税法课程

"联邦所得税"不仅介绍个人所得税的相关知识,当然这是该课程的重点之一,也可适用于事业单位所得税。修完该课程以后,若学生打算在商事领域从事相关工作,可选修涉及到商事上联邦所得税的"事业单位税"。"国际税"是涉及到跨境商业交易的深化课程。

若学生想要更深一步地了解关于企业税的问题,可以考虑在Notre Dame Mendoza College of Business修企业税,合伙人税,洲,地方税等商学院提供的所有课程。最后,商业代理也涉及到企业家代理,所以学生们应当考虑修"遗产与赠与税"。

深化商法(有关)课程

公司法一般涉及到企业内的内部业务,而商法是以商业交易,债权债务人,财政有关的内容为重点。

有三个课程会谈到Uniform Commercial Code的特定领域。"商法—销售"讲涉及到销售合同的第2条规定。"支付系统"讲涉及到可转移票据的第3条到第5条规定。"担保交易"讲涉及到财产担保权的第9条规定。

"破产法"涉及到面临问题的债权债务人关系。"企业破产"注重于依照破产法第11章的企业重组,而"破产"强调个人债务人,也涉及到债务的偿还。

"银行法"介绍美国储蓄性金融机构以及其监督与规制。并且也涉及到保险公司,券商,投资公司以及与金融机关相关的规制。

"国际商事仲裁"全面地介绍国际仲裁法与实务。

其他深化商学课程

以下的课程虽没有被包括在上面的课程里,但依旧是很重要的商事法可程名单。

反垄断法
财政机关
国际商务交易
国际贸易
投资管理法
法与企业
非盈利目的组织
不动产交易

相关课程

以下是很多学生感兴趣的与商事法项目有关的课程名单。

劳动法:深化题目
反垄断法,技术以及知识产权探讨
商业侵权行为
消费者法
被雇佣人福利法
雇佣歧视法
环境法
遗产与赠与
保险法
国际&比较劳动法
国际商务法
法与经济探讨
商标法与不公正竞争
白领犯罪

联系方式

若想要关于商事法的更详细的信息,请联系。
Professor Julian Velasco.

business_law

Program of Study in Business Law

Many law school graduates begin their careers practicing law in business-related areas. Although a business degree or background can be very helpful, it is not a prerequisite to a successful career in these areas. The Program of Study in Business Law prepares law students for the challenges ahead. Students who wish to undertake this program are encouraged to take a wide variety of courses in various areas of substantive business law as well as those that emphasize analytical skills and methodology.

In terms of practice, business attorneys tend to be focused on either litigation or transactions. While much of law school prepares the student for litigation practice, the Program of Study in Business Law places a special emphasis on transactional practice: that is, helping clients achieve their desired ends in a way that is both efficient and minimizes the risks of litigation.

In terms of substantive areas, the program has three major areas of focus: corporate law, dealing with private ordering and the organization and management of business and nonprofit organizations; tax law, dealing with government taxation of business and transactions; and commercial law, dealing with the world of commerce among businesses and financing of business. However, there are many other substantive areas of law that are also covered by the curriculum.

Faculty

A number of Notre Dame Law School faculty teach, research, and write in the areas of corporate, tax, and commercial law. In addition, there are faculty throughout the wider university whose work connects well with the program and whose courses are available to law students.

Twitter

Faculty News on Twitter


Follow us @NDLaw for the latest NDLS faculty news.

Roger Alford

Colleen Baker

Matt Barrett

James J. Kelly, Jr.

Michael Kirsch

Lloyd Mayer

Patricia O’Hara

Avishalom Tor

Julian Velasco

Back to Top

Foundational Business Courses

The most fundamental course in the business law curriculum is Business Associations. For many students, it is the first introduction to business matters, and it is taught from this perspective. The course introduces students to the various forms of business organization as well as some of the most basic business concepts. The other foundational course is Federal Income Taxation. For most law students, it is the first course on taxation. The course introduces students to basic tax concepts that are important for both business and personal tax planning.

Once a student has taken Business Associations, he or she is ready for most of the advanced business courses. Similarly, once a student has taken Federal Income Taxation, he or she is ready for any other advanced tax course. It is therefore recommended that students take these two foundational courses as early into their law school careers as possible, and before any advanced courses.

Directed Readings

Directed Readings

For students who want to explore a particular business-related topic in more depth, business law faculty leaders are available to supervise directed readings in their various areas of expertise. While each faculty member determines the specific requirements for directed readings conducted under their supervision, in general such directed readings involve reading more in-depth materials than are covered in the regularly offered courses and writing a legal research paper on the topic chosen in cooperation with that faculty member.

A few courses that teach analytical skills and methodologies could be taken concurrently with, or even before, the foundational courses. These include Accounting for Lawyers and Analytical Methods for Lawyers. The basic first-year curriculum (including contracts and torts) also helps prepare students for the business law program.

Advanced Corporate Law Courses

Business Associations deals primarily with the state law of business organization and is the foundational corporate law course. As such, it is the foundational corporate law course. In an ideal sequencing, Securities Regulation would be the second course. Securities regulation is often considered the federal corporate law, and deals largely, but not exclusively, with disclosure. Knowledge of the basics is indispensable to corporate law practice, and it is a difficult subject to learn on one’s own. Mergers & Acquisitions is an advanced course that focuses heavily on transactional aspects of corporate law.

There are currently three seminars offered in the area of corporate law. Advanced Topics in Corporate Law focuses largely on contemporary as well as perennial issues in corporate governance. Corporate Governance: Economic Analysis examines some of the most important and timely policy issues concerning the functioning of corporations generally and the means for obtaining their efficient management more specifically.

Advanced Tax Law Courses

Federal Income Taxation introduces key income tax concepts that apply not only to individuals, who are the focus of that course, but also to businesses. After taking this foundational course, students who plan to practice in business-related areas should take Taxation of Business Enterprises, which addresses directly the federal income taxation of businesses. International Taxation is an advanced course, which addresses cross-border transactions.

Students who want to obtain a more in-depth knowledge of business tax issues should also consider taking Corporate Taxation, Partnership Taxation, and State and Local Taxation, all available from Norte Dame’s Mendoza College of Business. Finally, because representation of businesses also often involves representation of business owners, students should consider taking Estate and Gift Taxation.

Advanced Commercial Law (and Related) Courses

While corporate law generally deals with the internal affairs of a corporation, commercial law deals with transactions among businesses, with a special emphasis on finance and debtor-creditor relations.

Three courses deal with specific areas of the Uniform Commercial Code. Commercial Law — Sales covers Article 2, dealing with sales contracts. Payment Systems covers Articles 3 through 5, focusing primarily on the law of negotiable instruments. Secured Transactions covers Article 9, dealing with security interests in property.

The law of bankruptcy deals with debtors-creditor relationships in times of distress. Bankruptcy emphasizes individual debtors and covers the discharge of debts, while Corporate Bankruptcy focuses on business reorganizations under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code.

Banking Law provides an introduction to depository institutions and their supervision and regulation in the U.S. It also touches upon the regulation of related financial institutions, such as insurance companies, broker-dealers, and investment companies.

International Commercial Arbitration provides a comprehensive overview of international arbitration law and practice.

Other Advanced Business Courses

The following is a list of additional courses which do not fall into the above categories but which are important parts of the business law curriculum.

Antitrust Law
Financial Institutions
International Business Transactions
International Trade
Investment Management Law
Law and the Entrepreneur
Not-for-Profit Organizations
Real Estate Transactions

Related Courses

The following is a list of related courses which are highly relevant to students interested in the program of study in business law.

Advanced Topics in Labor Law
Antitrust, Technology & Intellectual Property Seminar
Business Torts
Consumer Law
Employee Benefits Law
Employment Discrimination Law
Environmental Law
Estate and Gift Taxation
Insurance Law
International and Comparative Labor Law
International Business Law
Labor and Employment Law
Law and Economics Seminar
Trademarks and Unfair Competition
White Collar Crime

Back to Top

Contact

Julian Velasco

For more information about this Program of Study or the field of Business Law, please contact Professor Julian Velasco.