Moot Court

Moot Court

Img 2608 2
2016-2017 Moot Court Board

The Moot Court program is a student run organization that coordinates intermural and intercollegiate competitions in appellate and international divisions.

Established in 1950, the Moot Court program provides an opportunity for students to develop their appellate advocacy skills. The program is administered by the Moot Court Board (a group of students selected to represent Notre Dame Law School in competitions) and guided by a faculty advisor.

Students are selected to the Moot Court Board after competing in the optional 1L Moot Court Competition and receiving an invitation to join the Board based on their 1L briefs and their performance in the competition. In the fall of their 2L year, Board members compete intramurally to determine placement on the Board’s various teams. In years past NDLS’ teams have competed in the National Moot Court competition, the ABA competition, the National Religious Freedom Competition, and the Jessup International Law Moot Court competition. The National team also performs the Showcase argument in front of a panel of sitting judges, watched by the 1L class.

Members of the Board also have the opportunity to argue actual cases in front of the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals. Under the guidance of a local attorney, they take on a case representing a prisoner. In that capacity, they write a brief, a reply brief and argue the case before a three judge panel.

Students are entitled to one co-curricular credit for each semester that they participate in Moot Court.

For more information contact Moot Court Board President Christa Dines at

Follow the Moot Court Board on twitter for the latest news and updates!

1st Annual Notre Dame National Appellate Advocacy Tournament

Please click here to register for the 2016 National Appellate Advocacy Tournament for Religious Freedom. Further information to follow.

Moot Court Board Members

Rsz 1rsz Moot Court Team With Trophy
International Moot Court Competition on Law & Religion 2016 participants Matthew Ciulla, Christina Dines, Christina Milanese and Kyle Maury

Sarah Gallo and Pat Duffey at the National Religious
Freedom Moot Court competition

President: Christina Dines
1L Tournament Chair: Brandon Polcik
2L Selection Chair: Lauren Nottoli
Brief Writer Selection: Lauren Shumate
Oralist Selection: Nicholas Schilling

Team Representatives:
Showcase Team: Nicholas Schilling
ABA: Matthew Ciulla
7th Circuit: Thomas McHugh
Jessup: Jason Chrestionson

Showcase Team
Nicholas Schilling
Brittany Ehardt
Jeffrey Schmidt

Christina Milanese
Sean McAuliffe
Lauren Shumate

ABA Team
Christina Dines
Diego Freire
Matthew Ciulla

Brian Mauldin
Curtis Tate
James Eckhart

Seventh Circuit
Lauren Nottoli
Kyle Maury
Thomas McHugh
Brandon Polcik
Krystal Alvarez

Jessup International Law
Lauren Kuehn
Sara Gordon
Jason Chrestionson

Ciara Dineen
Emily Logue

2L Members


Dominic Barceleau
Jon Carfagno
Kaitlin Carreno
James Cheney
Kayla Clark
Emily Curosh
Kristi Denny
Matthew Fitzgerald
Christine Fimognari
Sean Flynn
Ross Kloeber
Patrick Manion
John McCreary
Ally McQueen
Rob Myers
Daniela Peinado
Vicky Rusanova
Hope Tone
Hannah Weger

Brief Writers

Adam Augustyn
David Ballard
Brandon Haase
Shannon Lewry
Tia Paulette
Benjamin Redgrave