Assistant Deans

NDLS assistant deans are staff members with key supervisory or administrative roles. The Law School has three assistant deans.


Janet Laybold

Assistant Dean for Graduate and Strategic Initiatives

Dean Laybold’s responsibilities include developing the Law School’s LLM program, managing student placements for externship programs that are based in Chicago and elsewhere, and serving as the Law School’s liaison to the Chicago bar, the ND Club of Chicago, and the Law School’s Chicago recruiting and hiring partners.


Kevin O’Rear

Assistant Dean for Admissions and Career Development

Dean O’Rear’s responsibilities include enrollment management, the awarding of discretionary financial aid, and the development and management of programs, resources and activities that facilitate career planning and placement of law students and alumni.


Cathy Roemer

Assistant Dean for Law School Administration

Dean Roemer’s responsibilities include the creation and supervision of the operating budget of the Law School, supervision and maintenance of the facilities of the Law School, and oversight of the employment policies of the University as they relate to Law School personnel.